websleuthsAs many of you out there know, I have been posting over on my other blog and had discontinued posting at this one. What I had not realized was that a good number of people were still reading this one in spite of me not writing here. It turns out that the main reason for the visits were due to the ongoing discussion about the lawsuit between the two owners of Websleuths.com.

The core of one of the discussions seems to be how I obtained the information regarding the lawsuit and if I were taking sides with one of the parties involved. Other issues had to do with some of the terms I used within the blog as to the primary reasons for the lawsuit and any specific criminal actions that may or may not have been inferred at that time.

For those who may not be familiar with my writings on this subject, I post the links to the articles here to aid in bringing everyone up to speed.

A short time before I published this article, I had heard rumblings about a lawsuit through various social media sources, mainly through a blog from which I am now barred from reading. Once I learned a few details of the suit and obtained documents through a Public records request, I wrote the following article:

https://murtwitnessonelive.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/trica-griffith-being-sued-by-websleuths/

I also wrote another article about Trica Griffith and Websleuths.com

This article had to do with the accusation that Trica Griffith was giving out the personal information of those who were members of the forum, mainly those who were part of a mass banning that occurred several years ago. I wanted to point out exactly WHO made the accusation and also how the information about one blogger in particular was discovered:

https://murtwitnessonelive.wordpress.com/2013/04/27/tricia-griffithowner-of-websleuths-com-accused-of-giving-out-personal-information-of-former-subscriber-to-forum/#comment-7487

Let me do my best at trying to set the record straight on certain matters.

First, I am not taking sides in the lawsuit. I did not then and I am not now. I did allow people to comment on the blog and people are still welcome to do so although the blog suffers from a glitch or two that sometimes messes up the comment option.

tgPeople might have the mistaken impression that I had turned away from Trica Griffith since it was she who banned me from the forum some years ago. I stated back then that it is her right to ban or welcome anyone she wishes to the forum since she is part owner of it and can run it as she sees fit. I still have a lot of respect of Trica and admiration for what she has been able to do while operating the forum.

Next: Use of the term embezzlement. When I read through the court transcripts, I drew my own conclusion that this is an accusation of misappropriation of funds which defines what embezzlement is, in most cases. It is only my opinion, of course, and not a direct accusation.

What I do feel is going on here is a fairly common business dispute that occurs more often than people may or may not realize. The partners in this case have a disagreement and one has chosen a civil action as a way to attempt to resolve it.

It is also natural in these sorts of things for people to be loyal to one party or the other. There are those who are aligned with Trica and those who are aligned with Sue. I have no idea who will prevail. In a majority of these disputes, there is mediation and an out of court settlement. These things rarely go to trial.

The amount of damages being sought is rather small. It should be an easy matter for a resolution to be reached that would appease both parties and allow everyone to go forward with their lives.

There is an underlying problem, however. I find it rather disconcerting that someone decided to record what should have been private telephone conversations and then pass the recordings around to parties that should not have had a vested interest in hearing them.

There is a rule of law known as ” a reasonable expectation of privacy” which means that all parties to certain conversations have an understanding that what is being said will remain between them and not be disclosed to outsiders.

This clearly did not happen here. The practice of publishing what was understood as private conversations has been going on in the social media world as well as in the outside world as well. There has been some high profile examples of this in the public sector in the recent past.

There seems to have been a loss of ethics and common decency over the years with people engaging in savage personal attacks against each others in the social media realm.

It is both a disgrace and a shame. Most of us operate forums and blogs as a hobby and not as a means of income. It is a sad state of affairs as to what is going on in social media today.

Websleuths.com is an institution. It is one of the most respected websites in the true crime arena on social media today. I can only hope that all sides can resolve this dispute and help preserve Websleuths as the place to go to obtain information on current subjects regarding true crime and that the forum can continue to evolve and grow.

Feel free to comment and ask any questions of me that you wish.

Stay tuned

MURT

