ninethNever in my wildest dreams would I have imagined that I would be sitting on a jury panel listening to the evidence in the case of someone charged with rape.

Tonight I embark on the story of my journey through the process of being called to jury duty right on through to the conclusion of the trial a few short hours prior to this writing.

I learned first hand what it is like to hear the language of rape as told by the Prosecuting attorney, by the Defense attorney, from law enforcement and by the rape survivor herself.

This is a process that was profound and one of the more difficult ones that I have had to go through in my 62 years. I now have a new understanding of what jurors go through when they are selected, then listen to the various presentations, listen to audio recordings and video recordings. After all of that, the jury is then charged with making a decision that may change the lives of many forever.

It changes ones perspective of what those jurors we often criticize for a verdict we do not like go through. I want to convey as best I can, what jurors go through as they are asked to make a decision that will effect the lives of those who are complete strangers in ways we can only speculate about.

Please join me as I walk you through my journey as Juror number 136

Stay tuned

MURT

