threatagainsthollyI am writing on this blog although I had not intended to do so because I am both concerned and angry. There seems to be an uptick in the intensity behind some actions on the internet recently. These actions seem to center on identity theft and death threats.

TBBSF

The First part is that a well known blog is being impersonated. This is not the first time this has been done. This has been going on for years. What makes this impersonation unique is that it may be those listed as the owner of the fake blog who themselves have been impersonated.

When it first became known that the impersonator blog was on the internet, a whois search was done and it was shown that Holly and Jon Briley were the owners of the site. My question at the time was why would they so openly register the blog? It would be a simple matter to list the ownership as private and hide whoever it was that owned the blog. The cost to have a private registration is fairly inexpensive depending on who one chooses for a domain registry host.

Holly Briley has been widely impersonated in the past and I felt this was just another prank on some unknown person’s part.

Then comes the second and most serious incident that is of the most concern. The Brileys have received a direct death threat.

A line has been crossed.

Death threats or even the hints of a death threat on the internet cannot be tolerated. There have been a number of these incidents recently. This all needs to stop and whoever is behind these threats needs to be made accountable for their actions.

If there is anything I can do to help the Brileys find out who is behind these actions, I am at their disposal.

I am hoping that this is the last time I have to make an entry on this blog. It has been my intent to stop writing on this blog and move on over to the other blog and return to the kind of blogging I had intended years ago when I started writing them.

Stay tuned

MURT

